Henry Handel Richardson

Saturday 20 August 2016


State Library of NSW

Macquarie St, Sydney

In 2014, Writing NSW introduced a new series of events, Honouring Australian Writers, to pay tribute to and reconnect people with Australian writers of importance that may have slipped from view. The first writer we focused on was Thea Astley in 2014, and Randolph Stow in 2015.

In 2016 we honour Henry Handel Richardson (1870-1946), the pen name of Ethel Florence Lindesay Richardson. The author of nine novels including The Getting of Wisdom and The Fortunes of Richard Mahoney, she is considered to be one of our great foundation novelists.

Speaking on the significance of Henry Handel Richardson’s writing are director Bruce Beresford, author Sophie Cunningham, historian Anna Clarke, and Richardson biographer Professor Michael Ackland.

Find out more about Henry Handel Richardson on our research page.

The Honouring Australian Writers series is supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and State Library of NSW.

More in the Honouring Australian Writers series:


Black and White hero image of Thea Astley smiling at the camera


Sepia photo of Randolph staring to the left of the camera with his jacket slung over his shoulder





Katharine Susannah Prichard

This event has already taken place.


Related Events