Thea Astley

Saturday 23 August 2014

2:00pm – 4:30pm

State Library of NSW

Macquarie St, Sydney


Sometimes we forget about the great when revelling in the new.  In its annual Honouring Australian Writers series, the NSW Writers’ Centre addresses this by paying tribute to writers who have made an important contribution to our literary culture.

On the tenth anniversary of her death, we revisit or perhaps discover the works of Thea Astley, the only writer to have won the Miles Franklin four times. A woman of sharp wit and deep humanity, Astley draws our eye back to that from which we may wish to turn away. She often wrote of the lush Queensland landscape but also grappled with issues beneath the surface: cruelty and injustice towards Aborigines, women, and the marginalised.

Editor, critic and longtime friend Mark MacLeod joins author Debra Adelaide (The Household Guide to Dying), literary critic Susan Sheridan, and author Felicity Castagna (Small Indiscretions) to celebrate Thea Astley and her work.

Read about the event on our On Writing blog post.

Find out more about Thea Astley on our research page.

The Honouring Australian Writers series is supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and State Library of NSW.

 More in the Honouring Australian Writers series:







This event has already taken place.


Related Events