Inga Simpson Writing Beautiful Sentences

Inga Simpson

Inga Simpson is the author Understory: a life with trees (Hachette 2017), which was shortlisted for the Adelaide Writers Week Award for Nonfiction – and, for children, The Book of Australian Trees, illustrated by Alicia Rogerson (Lothian 2021). Inga’s fiction is also very much based in nature. Where the Trees Were (Hachette 2016) was shortlisted for an Indie Book Award, and longlisted for the 2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Australian Book Industry Awards, and the Green Carnation Prize. While Nest (Hachette 2014) was shortlisted for the Courier Mail People’s Choice Award, the ALS Gold Medal, and longlisted for the 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award and the Stella Prize. Inga’s first novel, Mr Wigg, (Hachette 2013), was published following her participation in the 2011 QWC/Hachette Manuscript Development Program and shortlisted for the Indie Debut Book Award. Inga’s most recent publication is the thriller The Last Woman in the World (Hachette 2021).

Inga has PhDs in creative writing and English literature. Her short work has been published in Wonderground, Review of Australian Fiction, Griffith Review, Clues, Writing Queensland, Chicago Quarterly Review and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. She was also the winner of the final Eric Rolls Nature Essay Prize.

Workshops and Events

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop