Writing On Our Calendar / December 2019


Summer’s here and so are the final days of the year. It’s not too late to strike off those new year resolutions — starting with the ones on your calendar.


Sunday 1 December: Brave New Word Youth Poetry Festival. The first state-wide Youth Poetry Slam finals takes place on the second day of the festival! Curated specially for young talents, this exciting event features Rudy Francisco. Grab your tickets before they sell out!

Thursday 5 December: The B List with Bri Lee & Cathy Perkins. Join Bri and Cathy in conversation about the events leading to the publication of The Shelf Life of Zora Cross at the State Library from 6pm – 8pm. Drinks and chats with fellow bookclubbers follow.

Thursday 5 December: Animal antics storytime. Bring your child along to an animal themed braille storytime with guest storyteller Megan Taylor at Ashfield library from 11am – 1145am.

Friday 6 December: WSRC Seminar – Creativity and Calculation. Reconsider your artistic productions with the Writing and Society Research Centre. Academics discuss new understandings of creativity in practices and processes from interdisciplinary perspectives. 11am – 1230pm at Western Sydney Uni campus; RSVPs essential.

Image from Wollongong Botanic Garden

Friday 6 December: Budding Bookworms – weekly story time in the garden. Music, dancing, craft and stories await your little ones (3-5 years) in the Wollongong Botanic Garden every Friday 10am.

Tuesday 10 December: Breaking Silent Codes Book Launch. This Human Rights Day, celebrate the launch of a book from Aboriginal, Maori, Torres Strait and Pacific Islander Women speaking about domestic violence and sexual assault. 5pm-730pm at UNSW. Entry is free but RSVPs essential.

Wednesday 11 December: The Society of Women Writers NSW Monthly Literary Luncheon. This month’s keynote speaker is Katie M Little, writer, comedian and stage mother. Katie will be talking about the precarious mental balancing act of living in the Anthropocene and the next to impossible ambition to be a published writer in the digital age. 12pm at the Dixon Room, State Library of NSW.

Thursday 12 December: Something in Lake Burley Griffin. Screenwriter Felicity Packard will be in conversation with fantasy YA novelist Garth Nix at the National Library of Australia. From childhood to work and a pilot project adapted from Garth’s books, join the talk from 6pm.

Image from Kings Comics 

Thursday 19 December: Peter Milligan signing at Kings! A special signing not to be missed, catch Peter Milligan at Kings Comics from 5pm-7pm. Fans of Hit Girl and X-Force, rejoice!

Friday 27 December: Plumwood Mountain Journal submission. Submissions for previously unpublished poetry and essays close this day for the March/April 2020 issue of Plumwood. Prompt provided by guest editor John Ryan.


Related Newsbites

0