Gretchen Shirm The Crying Room

Gretchen Shirm

Gretchen Shirm is the author of a collection of short stories Having Cried Wolf, for which she named a 2011 Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Australian Novelist. Her first novel Where the Light Falls, was shortlisted for the 2017 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction in the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. The Crying Room was published in 2023. Gretchen has taught in the undergraduate and postgraduate creative writing programs at the University of Technology, Sydney, the University of Sydney and Western Sydney University. She teaches the Writing a Novel at Faber Academy. Prior to turning to teaching, Gretchen worked as a public law lawyer for over ten years. Her fiction has been published in Griffith Review, Overland, Meanjin, Best Australian Stories amongst other places. Her criticism is regularly published in The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age and The Australian. Gretchen is interested in novels, short stories, novellas and life writing.
Contact: Click to Email
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop